Ask Questions

March 11,2013
 Hi Patty,
 
Everything was great!
 
 We got a lot of bicycle riding in last week,And on the last day, on your balcony rail, there was the bluest bluebird I've ever seen! I even thought it might be an indigo bunting, but it was a bluebird. (We loved having the bird book on hand, by the way. We're not true birders, but we love to spot and ID them!)
 
I do want to tell you how friendly we found people. This was especially gratifying on the bikes -- people were more courteous to us in the Princess Anne region than anywhere else we have ridden. (We have brought bikes to a number of places around the country!) And of course they were very friendly in face-to-face encounters as well.
 
Thank you again for sharing your wonderful retreat with us.
 
Cheers,
 
Sue Barsom
 
 
 
Feb ,20 2013
 
Hello, just wanted to drop a line and say that your place was absolutely lovely. I'd never been to that part of maryland and it was wonderful. I will definitely keep you guys in mind for future getaways.
 
-Claire
 
 
 
Fall Pre-review!
 
 
Hi Patty
Just a note to let you know that a check for the balance for our rental beginning September 8th is in the mail today. We saw the new pix that were added on the website ... you're killing me! Needless to say, we are really looking forward to our trip.

Hope you are all enjoying the summer! Thanks so much.
Randy and Ellen
 
 
Excellent
 
 
Review Submitted: October 2, 2012 Date of Stay: September 2012
My wife and I spent the second week of September at the Sunrise/Sunset Cottage and it was a wonderful experience. The house is very comfortable and has the amenities everyone needs. It was quite close to the water and we had wonderful breezes and enjoyed much of our time on the wonderful screened porch. We were very fortunate that we had some of the best weather of the year. We especially enjoyed the outside fire pit. Sitting there under the most beautiful night sky was awesome! We got to watch a ?light show? each time with shooting stars and more constellations than we realized even existed. 

We visited the beach near the Deal Island Bridge at least three times and had the entire beach to ourselves. The water was 77 degrees, and we were able to hop right in! 

If you travel to Wenona, you?ll meet some of the nicest people in the area. Everyone was friendly and helpful and, more than anything, so welcoming! Arby, Debbie, Holland ? all great people! 

We also enjoyed excursions to the wonderful Salisbury Zoo (amazing), Crisfield, and Chincoteague Island. The beach at Chincoteague was just breathtaking! Also, the wildlife museum there is very special. 

Don?t hesitate to book a stay at the Sunrise/Sunset Cottage. It?s a place where you can relax and really take things slow. 

Randall Apgar
 
August 18,2012 

Patty,
Thank you so much for allowing us to use your lovely home. We had the best time. The kids had an awesome time fishing . Thank you for the best vacation we have had yet!!!

Apryl and Joseph

Rick and Anne -
Review Submited June 2012                                                                                                                                                                              
    We had a wonderful time . The house was terrific-had everything we needed. The grandkids enjoyed the beach, canoing and crabbing. Best of all was the PEACE and Quiet! Cheers Rick and Anne
April 16,2012
Hi Bill and Patty,
            We really enjoyed our stay at your lovely cottage.  It is a very special place.  We met Arby and enjoyed talking to him and hearing tales about the area.  We hope to visit again in the future.
            Moira Fairhurst

To: Patty Rental Sent: Monday, March 12, 2012 8:03 PM Subject: RE: Inquiry from Chris Webster for Deal Ilsand Vacation Rental Home Patty,

 Did not get a chance to thank you for our wonderful stay. We were a day late getting in but still had a great time, just not long enough. I would recommend your place to all others lookingfor a good time in that area. Quite and peaceful. WOW Thanks again for having us. Chris Webster 

 To: bill lichtfuss Sent: Tuesday, March 6, 2012 9:55 AM Subject: Re: Inquiry from Tina Somero - Feb 18 to 25 - Listing #317287 Hi Patty, We receive our deposit back yesterday, thanks!! Also thank you for the use of your home. We had a very relaxing week! Exactly what we were looking for! Thanks again, Tina, Jason Somero

 From David High Tran The Concorde Founation Hello Patty, I wanted to take the opportunity to THANK YOU for providing myself and my two colleagues such a wonderful place for stay in Wenona. It was such a pleasant experience as the people were so kind and helpful in getting us into Holland Island. Furthermore, your house is extremely adorable and well kept, and I truly appreciate the effort you put into maintaining the place ? as us guests were very comfortable and pleased. If you would like, we would like to advertise your business on our website to help you with promotions. Let us know if you are interested. Thank you so much again and I hope to remain in touch with you for future activities. Thanks, David The Concorde Foundation **********************

 Susanne Casterline's comment on Deal Island from: http://www.facebook.com/dealislandvacations It's a small island located on MD's Eastern Shore - the land that time forgot. Where God isn't a dirty word, He's real. The scenery is beautiful and the wildlife, waterfowl and fishing abound. Where people truly care about one another and where the words compassion, humility, honesty and hard work are still a part of their vocabulary. 5 out of
 

Beki Skibinski
Grove City Pa
Review Submitted   Date Of Stay:   July 31 ,2011
 "Awesome beach adventure!"
My Family had a wonderful stay in your cottage. It was a well maintained property, and clean. We had 4 teenagers, and they were never bored! The beach on Deal Island is small, but very private and most the time we had it to ourselves. At sunset we would go find more glass and shells than i have EVER seen anywhere before. We boated to little deal island where we explored the island. It is a bit on the rough side, but that was its charm. Totally inhabited by anything but pure nature, and its creatures. We found so many strange objects that kept the kids searching for more. We even found a perfect glass bottle from the 30's totally intact on the beach! My husband and i did do some fishing from the boat, and we caught some fish. I even had a crab on the line! We took the option offered to rent he motor boat , where the others rentals didn't offer boat rentals. Arby and his family (and all the locals) were very kind and helpful with everything. We even went to "Luckys" and had our last dinner there, and they even gave me a piece of cake with a sparkler for my birthday which was that day. All in all, it was a very relaxing vacation, and i would recommend it to anyone who wants to get back to the basics of nature and quiet. We made a quick day trip to Ocean City, which made the kids happy, but i hated it and couldn't wait
Rating:
5 out of 5

Great vacation
Brenda D. Westminster, Md      -
Review Submitted      Date of Stay July 9, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation! Caught lots of fish including a great big flounder which we cooked for dinner. On our way back into the Wenona Harbor we saw some Dolphins who after we stopped came right up to the boat. That was the first time we have seen live dolphins. The house was really nice. We spent lots of time relaxing on the screened Porch.

Rating:
5 out of 5

Respond to Review

Nicole Jones & Terence Nichols      Waldorf, MD
Review Submitted      Date of Stay June 8, 2011

Patty & Bill, OMG you have such a lovely place on Deal Island. Terence & I loved it. Everyone treated us so nice and cordial. Arby is the man though....Unfortunately, Terence & I did not go fishing or crabbing because I think we were relaxing and just chillin and enjoying the peace and quiet. The listing description was 100% correct. The property was cleaned and very well maintained. The owners showed excellent customer service and great communication. Please keep me in mind for next year, I would love to come back to do it all over again. I also wrote you a little note and stuck it on the notebook on the counter. Thank you again, Nicole & Terence

Recommended for:

Helpful votes: 1/2.
Best Spring Break Vacation
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
Kiera Smith      Lawrenceville, NJ
Review Submitted      Date of Stay March 12, 2011
A group of five of us went to this house for our spring break. We weren't sure what to expect, but everything was amazing. The house was gorgeous, Arby and his family were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed cooking our own food and using the grill. This break was the most relaxing break that we had ever had. We definitely enjoyed the house. The size was good. I slept on the sofa bed upstairs in the living room and it was so comfortable. All five of us slept better than we had in weeks. It was a total destressor week. The view from the windows were beautiful. One night there was a thunderstorm and the whole upstairs lit up blue with the lightening. I would definitely recommend this property to others looking for a hasslefree vacation house. Bill and Patty were extremely accomodating and they made the process very easy. The island was warm and inviting. There was nothing about the place that we didn't like.There were lots of places to explore and wander and of course the beauty of the bay surpassed our expectations. We had a wonderful time and the memories we made there will forever stay etched in our memories.

Recommended for: Age 55+ ,  Girls Getaway ,  Sightseeing ,  Families with Teenagers ,  Families with Young Children ,  Romantic Getaway
 
Helpful votes: 1/1.
Had a Great Time!
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
Erika Soldano      White Plains, NY
Review Submitted      Date of Stay June 23, 2010
Hi Patty & Bill - Thank you for the use of your lovely home on Deal Island last week. We enjoyed our stay very much and particularly enjoyed meeting and speaking with the folks at Arby?s. We found the accommodations to be very clean and comfortable and the location to be perfect for our needs. Despite the heat, we had a good time exploring the island by kayak. And on Thursday evening, from the comfort of your livingroom, we got to experience one of the sudden wind and rain storms that come up on the steamy bay. It was topped off by the sight of a big beautiful red ball dropping below the horizon at sunset. Thank you again for making our visit to Deal Island possible. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for:
Helpful votes: 1/1.
Cozy, Rented Dec/26/09 - Jan 2/10
Rating:
4 out of 5
Respond to Review
Judy Webber      Norfolk, Va
Review Submitted      Date of Stay December 26, 2009
Dear Patty and Bill, We were looking for a get away place from job stress and school during the school christmas brake and your house was just the thing. We really enjoyed every minute on the island and your house was so nice and comfortable. Even though it looks small from the outside there was plenty of room for the 8 of us. And watching the sun set into the Chesapeake Bay was beautiful. The people on the island were very friendly. They even invited us to their annual New Year Eve community party at Arby's store. Some of us came from Norfolk, VA and some from CT. We highly recommend this house to any one who needs to relax, read a book, and stay in your PJ. We did not even turn the TV on. We enjoyed a TV free week. We did do a little exploring on the island but it was a little cold which we expected. We took sight seeing trips in the car to the nearby towns. We hope to go back in the future and we thank Patty and Bill for sharing their house with us.

Recommended for: Age 55+ ,  Girls Getaway ,  Sightseeing ,  Families with Teenagers ,  Families with Young Children ,  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/0.
Great Home (Rented 9/18/09-9/20/09)
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
Seul Yu      DC metro area
Review Submitted      Date of Stay September 18, 2009
Great home and great place to relax. Bill and Patty were able to accommodate us on very short notice and the house was great. The house is very well kept and cozy. There was more than enough room and great views. The small town was quaint and had great fishing spots. I don't think we've ever had a vacation that was so relaxing fun. Thank you Bill & Patty for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: Age 55+ ,  Adventure Seekers ,  Girls Getaway ,  Families with Teenagers ,  Families with Young Children ,  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4.
 
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
Brooke Bomberger      Jonestown PA
Review Submitted      Date of Stay September 7, 2009
We had a great long weekend! The boys loved finding shells on the beach and my dad caught some nice size fish. We enjoyed the house. The owners were easy to work with and returned our deposit quickly.

Recommended for:
Helpful votes: 0/0.
 
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
Anna Caferelli      West Chester Pa
Review Submitted      Date of Stay June 29, 2009
Hello Patty, Thank you very much for a lovely stay at your vacation home. We all had a very relaxing vacation. The area and residents were very welcoming and friendly.We hope to visit in the future as well. Again thanks for everything. Anna

Recommended for:
Helpful votes: 0/0.
Guestbook Comment
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
N/A      Mountville PA
Review Submitted      Date of Stay August 1, 2008
Hi Bill, I was writting to thank you again for letting us rent your house this past weekend. It is a beautiful house. My friends and I had a really good time. Deal Island is a relaxing place with plenty to do to keep you entertained but not overwhelmed. Your suggestions for things to do were very helpful.We would definately go back. Take care and thanks again, Erin

Recommended for:
Helpful votes: 2/3.
Guestbook Comment
Rating:
5 out of 5
Respond to Review
N/A      Barnegat NJ
Review Submitted      Date of Stay July 1, 2008
Hi Patty, Thank you for being so prompt with the security deposit and for sharing your home with me and my family. My son is already asking to go back next year, but for a longer period of time. The bird watching was amazing out there. I saw osprey and an eagle which made my whole summer. Thanks again. I will be in touch in the future.

Recommended for:
Helpful votes: 3/3.