Ask Questions

Please find below, in chronological order, the latest round of reviews from 2018 Spring & Summer guests....followed by some of our favorite reviews from year's past!
For a more complete listing of reviews over the years, you can go to our Home page and scroll to the bottom.


roomy and comfortable.

5/5 rating Stayed Sep 2018

We enjoyed our stay on Deal Island. The house was comfortable in spite of the 90+ temperatures during our stay. My 7-year-old granddaughter pored over the bird books and was thrilled to be able to identify several of the shore birds. But the star of our stay was Deal Island itself! What a jewel. Relaxing, friendly people, a wonderful get-away.

Submitted Sep 13, 2018 by Elizabeth P. 

Family Friendly Good Old Fashion Fun!

5/5 rating Stayed Aug 2018

Very clean and beautifully decorated! Enjoyed sitting on the porch and having breakfast with the beautiful views. So peaceful❤️ In the afternoon, we enjoyed swimming at the beach, going on a canoe exploration and bbq. The kids were so entertained by nature and slept soundly each night. It was nice to get away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven with us. We would definitely love to visit again!

Submitted Aug 13, 2018 by Jessica W, USA

Relaxing Getaway with Beautiful Surroundings

4/5 rating Stayed Jun 2018

This is a lovely home, and we had a great, relaxing vacation away from all the hustle and bustle. If you are like looking to relax and get away from it all, this is a great choice.

Submitted Jul 13, 2018 by Kelly P. 

Great location!

5/5 rating  Stayed Jun 2018

We really enjoyed the location of this property. It was so peaceful and a great family get away from the busy city. We especially enjoyed kayaking. We brought two of our own and also used the kayaks that are at the property. Fun for four!! Thanks for everything. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Submitted Jul 2, 2018 by Karin U.Williamsburg, VA

Relaxing time on Deal Island!

5/5 rating Stayed Jun 2018

My family and I had a fantastic time on Deal Island! The home has beautiful views of the bay! We enjoyed relaxing on the porch and going to the local beach. The seafood is fabulous. Very friendly welcoming people on the island. Finding sea glass was fun.

Submitted Jul 1, 2018 by Donna P. 

nice house

4/5 rating Stayed Jun 2018 

The house is nice, clean and has all of necessities. Love the quiet setting and the charm of the island.

Submitted Jun 23, 2018 by Dana S.

Great place

5/5 rating Stayed Apr 2018 

Great location wonderful views very clean feels like home.

Submitted Apr 17, 2018 by Chad H.

Property as described & better in my opinion!

5/5 rating Stayed Dec 2017 

We had a great time while staying at the property. Everything was as described. Owner & caretakers were VERY helpful throughout our stay. I highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking to visit the area ! We will certainly be back 

!Submitted Jan 1, 2018 by Chris W.

Enjoyable Stay!

Reviewed by Melissa K from Pa on November 01, 2017 for their trip during October 27, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay. The house was in great condition. We found everything we needed pretty much like home. We took the kayaks out and also went for several bike tours around the Island. Looking forward to returning. Wish I was there now going for a bike ride!

Much better than a Hotel!

Reviewed by John D from NJ on September 20, 2016 for their trip during September 27, 2017

Patty, We had a great time fishing with Captain Harry and the Kingfish II. We would recommend him to any of your future guests interested in chartering a fishing trip. We were also very pleased with the house and the accommodations. They were more than comfortable and exceeded those of a hotel. You have a cozy little place there and if we ever make it out that way again, we will look into renting your property again.Thanks,John


Loved It!

Reviewed by Casandra R on September 14, 2017 for their trip during September 08, 2017

Loved it! 23146 Manokin CT, Deal Island, MD, 2182 We had a wonderful time! Private and incredible view. We will definitely come back some time.


Unique stay!

Reviewed by Paula S on September 05, 2017 for their trip during August 24, 2017

This is a really quaint house and area. The home suited myself and two daughters for a birthday weekend get-away. We were grateful to be able to bring my daughter's two dogs. The house had everything we needed, we used the kayaks just two minutes away. The home was clean. The surrounding area is really laid back and quiet. We ate at Arby's which is a must! Can't say enough about the help we got from Wanda when we needed it. The owners were also quick to correspond with us. If you are looking to see a different part of Maryland, and if you are looking for a quiet get-away, this is the place.


Quiet Getaway in a Beautiful Waterview home

Reviewed by Gary Siems on August 10, 2017

This was our second visit to this awesome home in the sleepy little fishing village on Deal Island! We had spectacular weather, ate lots of seafood and enjoyed the views from the deck every chance we got. The home is beautifully decorated and oh so cozy. Best part is being able to take our four legged 'daughter' Piper with us. She loved her evening walks around the harbor and trips to the Deal Island beach, which we often had to ourselves. Would highly recommend this great home for the perfect Eastern Shore getaway. We'll be back! :)


Relaxing and beautiful

Reviewed by Kristy from Frederick on August 18, 2016 for their trip during August 12, 2016

We had a great time at the Sunrise~Sunset cottage! The cottage itself was just right for our family of 4 plus the dog. The views were amazing and we enjoyed the night breeze on the deck. As for Deal Island...what a hidden gem! The beach was great, very clean, and plenty of soft sand. The kids loved looking for sea glass on the beach. We also enjoyed canoeing and crabbing from the pier. Even caught enough to steam for dinner! We had great crab cakes and even better company at Arby's and had a really good meal at Peaky's. Wanda was so great and answered all of my silly questions. We will definitely be planning a trip back. Thanks Patty and Bill!


A Gem of a Cottage!

Reviewed by Jennifer Pete and Cindy Morton from Silver Spring Md on April 07, 2016 for their trip during March 30, 2016

We loved sitting upatairs surrounded by beautiful views on all sides! Even in the rain the screen porch was perfect for rocking and listening to the water and birds. The locals were friendly helpful and generous. Peaky's fresh fried chicken and seafood in Princess anne was well worth the drive . In all you have a gem of a cottage! Many thanks Jennifer Morton with 3 generations of family. Thank you so much! we all enjoyed your delightful cottage. Your neighbors were welcoming folks at Arby's were friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful- a rest for mind and souls. We'll certainly recommend your home to friends who would enjoy a peaceful vacation in a lovely spot Pete and Cindy (the old folks)


Amazing Time on Deal island

Reviewed by Regina R from ADK Mountains on August 31, 2015 for their trip during August 26, 2015

The home was just beautiful and the views are amazing. My family had and amazing time while staying on the island. Deal Island beach is perfect to bring your family to relax. We enjoyed the peacefulness and the water views are breathtaking. When I got out of my car when I arrived it was like wow. The bay views are just stunning. Even enjoyed a night around the fire pit making smores. Also went to my nieces house nearby and had steamed crabs and a nice family gathering . This vacation is at the top of my list as perfect. Recommended for: Families with Teenagers


Amazing Vacation Spot

Reviewed by Nick from New York Ciyt on June 09, 2015 for their trip during May 23, 2015

This is one of the best place I have ever visited. Right next to the bay and so quiet. I am from New York and the traffic and pollution here is just terrible. Visiting Deal Island is one of the best thing to do ever. If you are from any metropolitan city then this place is for you. I visited this place with my family and a family friend and one of my cousin who was there for 2 days. None of them had anything negative to say about the place. This place is just awesome and I would highly recommend any of you who are looking to relax their mind and need some peace. Also, the neighbors right opposite this house are very generous and kind. They are very friendly and happy go nature kind of people. It's hard to find neighbors like them. All in all, I would say it was an amazing stay here and we had fun. Even if you don't want to go out anywhere, you can just stay home and cook and walk around the area. There is also a harbor right around the corner. I would love to visit this place again for my next vacation. :) Nik & Eena


A perfect Getaway

Reviewed by Rick an Linda from Reading Pa on March 14, 2015 for their trip during February 13, 2015

We were sorry to go - we had a really wonderful, relaxing time at your house. Got some seafood at that place in Princess Anne that you had a brochure for - scallops, oysters, grouper and cream of crab soup was on our menu for Valentine's Day. Delicious! We had taken a prime rib roast down with us which we had yesterday for dinner. So nice to be eating a delicious meal while watching the spectacular sunset last night. All in all, a perfect getaway. You are blessed to have such a lovely home, and yes, we hope to get back down there when the weather gets warmer. Thank you again. Take care and God bless. Rick and Linda


Wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewed by Patricia Trimbur from Baden, Pa on August 22, 2014 for their trip during August 16, 2014

Dear Patty and Bill. We so enjoyed our stay at your cottage. We were just getting "into" the island when it was time for us to leave. Wish we could've stayed another week or more. The bay view is so beautiful. Couldn't stop looking out from the living room window. Everyone was like family. Holland and Dave were so very helpful. Your neighbors Ernesto and Jody were so nice. My son, daughter-in-law, granddaughters and John went kayaking for the first time. My son told us that if we buy a house on the island he will supply the kayaks. Would love for our other 7 grandchildren to experience the island. . Thanks so much ! You have been wonderful to deal with. I plan to write a review on the website. Many thanks. John, Patty and family


Hidden Gem!

Reviewed by Joe Boston from WV on August 04, 2014 for their trip during July 26, 2014

Thank you. We had a great time. We think Deal Island is a hidden gem.



March 11,2013
 Hi Patty,
 
Everything was great!
 
 We got a lot of bicycle riding in last week,And on the last day, on your balcony rail, there was the bluest bluebird I've ever seen! I even thought it might be an indigo bunting, but it was a bluebird. (We loved having the bird book on hand, by the way. We're not true birders, but we love to spot and ID them!)
 
I do want to tell you how friendly we found people. This was especially gratifying on the bikes -- people were more courteous to us in the Princess Anne region than anywhere else we have ridden. (We have brought bikes to a number of places around the country!) And of course they were very friendly in face-to-face encounters as well.
 
Thank you again for sharing your wonderful retreat with us.
 
Cheers,
 
Sue Barsom
 
 
 
Feb ,20 2013
 
Hello, just wanted to drop a line and say that your place was absolutely lovely. I'd never been to that part of maryland and it was wonderful. I will definitely keep you guys in mind for future getaways.
 
-Claire
 
 
 
 
 
Hi Patty
Just a note to let you know that a check for the balance for our rental beginning September 8th is in the mail today. We saw the new pix that were added on the website ... you're killing me! Needless to say, we are really looking forward to our trip.

Hope you are all enjoying the summer! Thanks so much.
Randy and Ellen
 
 

 
Review Submitted: October 2, 2012 Date of Stay: September 2012
My wife and I spent the second week of September at the Sunrise/Sunset Cottage and it was a wonderful experience. The house is very comfortable and has the amenities everyone needs. It was quite close to the water and we had wonderful breezes and enjoyed much of our time on the wonderful screened porch. We were very fortunate that we had some of the best weather of the year. We especially enjoyed the outside fire pit. Sitting there under the most beautiful night sky was awesome! We got to watch a ?light show? each time with shooting stars and more constellations than we realized even existed.

We visited the beach near the Deal Island Bridge at least three times and had the entire beach to ourselves. The water was 77 degrees, and we were able to hop right in!

If you travel to Wenona, you?ll meet some of the nicest people in the area. Everyone was friendly and helpful and, more than anything, so welcoming! Arby, Debbie, Holland ? all great people!

We also enjoyed excursions to the wonderful Salisbury Zoo (amazing), Crisfield, and Chincoteague Island. The beach at Chincoteague was just breathtaking! Also, the wildlife museum there is very special.

Don?t hesitate to book a stay at the Sunrise/Sunset Cottage. It?s a place where you can relax and really take things slow.

Randall Apgar


 

August 18,2012 

Patty,
Thank you so much for allowing us to use your lovely home. We had the best time. The kids had an awesome time fishing . Thank you for the best vacation we have had yet!!!

Apryl and Joseph



Rick and Anne -
Review Submited June 2012                                                                                                                                                                              
    We had a wonderful time . The house was terrific-had everything we needed. The grandkids enjoyed the beach, canoing and crabbing. Best of all was the PEACE and Quiet! Cheers Rick and Anne



April 16,2012
Hi Bill and Patty,
            We really enjoyed our stay at your lovely cottage.  It is a very special place.  We met Arby and enjoyed talking to him and hearing tales about the area.  We hope to visit again in the future.
            Moira Fairhurst



To: Patty Rental Sent: Monday, March 12, 2012 8:03 PM Subject: RE: Inquiry from Chris Webster for Deal Ilsand Vacation Rental Home Patty,

 Did not get a chance to thank you for our wonderful stay. We were a day late getting in but still had a great time, just not long enough. I would recommend your place to all others lookingfor a good time in that area. Quite and peaceful. WOW Thanks again for having us. Chris Webster 

 


To: bill lichtfuss Sent: Tuesday, March 6, 2012 9:55 AM Subject: Re: Inquiry from Tina Somero - Feb 18 to 25 - Listing #317287 Hi Patty, We receive our deposit back yesterday, thanks!! Also thank you for the use of your home. We had a very relaxing week! Exactly what we were looking for! Thanks again, Tina, Jason Somero

 


From David High Tran The Concorde Founation Hello Patty, I wanted to take the opportunity to THANK YOU for providing myself and my two colleagues such a wonderful place for stay in Wenona. It was such a pleasant experience as the people were so kind and helpful in getting us into Holland Island. Furthermore, your house is extremely adorable and well kept, and I truly appreciate the effort you put into maintaining the place ? as us guests were very comfortable and pleased. If you would like, we would like to advertise your business on our website to help you with promotions. Let us know if you are interested. Thank you so much again and I hope to remain in touch with you for future activities. Thanks, David The Concorde Foundation **********************

 


Susanne Casterline's comment on Deal Island from: http://www.facebook.com/dealislandvacations It's a small island located on MD's Eastern Shore - the land that time forgot. Where God isn't a dirty word, He's real. The scenery is beautiful and the wildlife, waterfowl and fishing abound. Where people truly care about one another and where the words compassion, humility, honesty and hard work are still a part of their vocabulary. 5 out of
 


Beki Skibinski
Grove City Pa
Review Submitted   Date Of Stay:   July 31 ,2011
 "Awesome beach adventure!"
My Family had a wonderful stay in your cottage. It was a well maintained property, and clean. We had 4 teenagers, and they were never bored! The beach on Deal Island is small, but very private and most the time we had it to ourselves. At sunset we would go find more glass and shells than i have EVER seen anywhere before. We boated to little deal island where we explored the island. It is a bit on the rough side, but that was its charm. Totally inhabited by anything but pure nature, and its creatures. We found so many strange objects that kept the kids searching for more. We even found a perfect glass bottle from the 30's totally intact on the beach! My husband and i did do some fishing from the boat, and we caught some fish. I even had a crab on the line! We took the option offered to rent he motor boat , where the others rentals didn't offer boat rentals. Arby and his family (and all the locals) were very kind and helpful with everything. We even went to "Luckys" and had our last dinner there, and they even gave me a piece of cake with a sparkler for my birthday which was that day. All in all, it was a very relaxing vacation, and i would recommend it to anyone who wants to get back to the basics of nature and quiet. We made a quick day trip to Ocean City, which made the kids happy, but i hated it and couldn't wait
Rating:
     5 out of 5



Great vacation
Brenda D. Westminster, Md      -
Review Submitted      Date of Stay July 9, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation! Caught lots of fish including a great big flounder which we cooked for dinner. On our way back into the Wenona Harbor we saw some Dolphins who after we stopped came right up to the boat. That was the first time we have seen live dolphins. The house was really nice. We spent lots of time relaxing on the screened Porch.

Rating:
     5 out of 5



Nicole Jones & Terence Nichols      Waldorf, MD
Review Submitted      Date of Stay June 8, 2011

Patty & Bill, OMG you have such a lovely place on Deal Island. Terence & I loved it. Everyone treated us so nice and cordial. Arby is the man though....Unfortunately, Terence & I did not go fishing or crabbing because I think we were relaxing and just chillin and enjoying the peace and quiet. The listing description was 100% correct. The property was cleaned and very well maintained. The owners showed excellent customer service and great communication. Please keep me in mind for next year, I would love to come back to do it all over again. I also wrote you a little note and stuck it on the notebook on the counter. Thank you again, Nicole & Terenc




Best Spring Break Vacation
Rating:
     5 out of 5
Kiera Smith      Lawrenceville, NJ
Review Submitted      Date of Stay March 12, 2011
A group of five of us went to this house for our spring break. We weren't sure what to expect, but everything was amazing. The house was gorgeous, Arby and his family were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed cooking our own food and using the grill. This break was the most relaxing break that we had ever had. We definitely enjoyed the house. The size was good. I slept on the sofa bed upstairs in the living room and it was so comfortable. All five of us slept better than we had in weeks. It was a total destressor week. The view from the windows were beautiful. One night there was a thunderstorm and the whole upstairs lit up blue with the lightening. I would definitely recommend this property to others looking for a hasslefree vacation house. Bill and Patty were extremely accomodating and they made the process very easy. The island was warm and inviting. There was nothing about the place that we didn't like.There were lots of places to explore and wander and of course the beauty of the bay surpassed our expectations. We had a wonderful time and the memories we made there will forever stay etched in our memories.

Recommended for: Age 55+ ,  Girls Getaway ,  Sightseeing ,  Families with Teenagers ,  Families with Young Children ,  Romantic Getaway
 
Had a Great Time!
Rating:
     5 out of 5




Erika Soldano      White Plains, NY
Review Submitted      Date of Stay June 23, 2010
Hi Patty & Bill - Thank you for the use of your lovely home on Deal Island last week. We enjoyed our stay very much and particularly enjoyed meeting and speaking with the folks at Arby?s. We found the accommodations to be very clean and comfortable and the location to be perfect for our needs. Despite the heat, we had a good time exploring the island by kayak. And on Thursday evening, from the comfort of your livingroom, we got to experience one of the sudden wind and rain storms that come up on the steamy bay. It was topped off by the sight of a big beautiful red ball dropping below the horizon at sunset. Thank you again for making our visit to Deal Island possible. We hope to return soon.



Cozy, Rented Dec/26/09 - Jan 2/10
Rating:
     4 out of 5
Judy Webber      Norfolk, Va
Review Submitted      Date of Stay December 26, 2009
Dear Patty and Bill, We were looking for a get away place from job stress and school during the school christmas brake and your house was just the thing. We really enjoyed every minute on the island and your house was so nice and comfortable. Even though it looks small from the outside there was plenty of room for the 8 of us. And watching the sun set into the Chesapeake Bay was beautiful. The people on the island were very friendly. They even invited us to their annual New Year Eve community party at Arby's store. Some of us came from Norfolk, VA and some from CT. We highly recommend this house to any one who needs to relax, read a book, and stay in your PJ. We did not even turn the TV on. We enjoyed a TV free week. We did do a little exploring on the island but it was a little cold which we expected. We took sight seeing trips in the car to the nearby towns. We hope to go back in the future and we thank Patty and Bill for sharing their house with us.



Great Home (Rented 9/18/09-9/20/09)
Rating:
     5 out of 5
Seul Yu      DC metro area
Review Submitted      Date of Stay September 18, 2009
Great home and great place to relax. Bill and Patty were able to accommodate us on very short notice and the house was great. The house is very well kept and cozy. There was more than enough room and great views. The small town was quaint and had great fishing spots. I don't think we've ever had a vacation that was so relaxing fun. Thank you Bill & Patty for sharing your beautiful home with us.

 

Rating:
     5 out of 5
Brooke Bomberger      Jonestown PA
Review Submitted      Date of Stay September 7, 2009
We had a great long weekend! The boys loved finding shells on the beach and my dad caught some nice size fish. We enjoyed the house. The owners were easy to work with and returned our deposit quickly.


 
Rating:
     5 out of 5
Anna Caferelli      West Chester Pa
Review Submitted      Date of Stay June 29, 2009
Hello Patty, Thank you very much for a lovely stay at your vacation home. We all had a very relaxing vacation. The area and residents were very welcoming and friendly.We hope to visit in the future as well. Again thanks for everything. Anna




Rating:
     5 out of 5
N/A      Mountville PA
Review Submitted      Date of Stay August 1, 2008
Hi Bill, I was writting to thank you again for letting us rent your house this past weekend. It is a beautiful house. My friends and I had a really good time. Deal Island is a relaxing place with plenty to do to keep you entertained but not overwhelmed. Your suggestions for things to do were very helpful.We would definately go back. Take care and thanks again, Erin


Rating:
     5 out of 5
Barnegat NJ
Review Submitted      Date of Stay July 1, 2008
Hi Patty, Thank you for being so prompt with the security deposit and for sharing your home with me and my family. My son is already asking to go back next year, but for a longer period of time. The bird watching was amazing out there. I saw osprey and an eagle which made my whole summer. Thanks again. I will be in touch in the future.